ULSU Teaching Excellence Awards

The University of Lethbridge Students’ Union would like to formally recognize and honour teaching excellence at the University of Lethbridge. The Students’ Union aims to do this by offering students an avenue for nominating a professor, sessional staff or lab instructor who has shown outstanding efforts to increase the learning experience of their students.

Nomination Process

The Teaching Excellence Award is based solely on teaching excellence and will be presented to instructors that meet the award criteria. All undergraduate students are eligible to nominate an instructor for the award. A student who wishes to nominate an instructor will be required to complete a letter of support outlining how the nominee has demonstrated excellence in teaching and the nomination form below. The annual nomination deadline is March 12th at 4:30 and must be dropped off at the Students' Union Office (SU180) or emailed to su.academic@uleth.ca, or submit this online form HERE.

After all nominations are collected and additional research on each candidate has been done, the selection committee will decide which instructors will receive this honour. The winners will be formally recognized at the ULSU Changeover Dinner held on April 8, 2020 in the Students' Union Ballrooms.

Award Winners

2017-2018: Dr. Joy Morris, Dr. Harold Jansen, Dr. Muhammad Khan

2016-2017: Lisa Lambert – Political Science, Gideon Fujiwara - History, Adam Mason – Fine Arts

2015-2016: Dr. Randall Barley, Dr. Howard Cheng, Dr. Alexander Darku 

2014-2015: Wayne Lippa – Chemistry, Abigail McMeekin - Modern Language, Janay Nugent – History 

2013-2014: Dan Johnson - Geography, Sheila McManus - History, Leanne Elias - New Media 

2012-2013: Greg Patenaude - Chemistry &  Biochemistry, Luz Ospina - Modern Languages

2011-2012: Shawn Bubel - Geography

2010-2011: Jay Gamble – English, Hans Joachim Wieden - Chemistry & Biochemistry, Lesley Brown - Kinesiology