ULSU Teaching Excellence Awards

The University of Lethbridge Students’ Union would like to formally recognize and honour teaching excellence at the University of Lethbridge. The Students’ Union aims to do this by offering students an avenue for nominating a professor, sessional staff or lab instructor who has shown outstanding efforts to increase the learning experience of their students.

Nomination Process

The Teaching Excellence Award is based solely on teaching excellence and will be presented up to three instructors that meet the award criteria. All undergraduate students are eligible to nominate an instructor for the award. A student who wishes to nominate an instructor will be required to complete a letter of support outlining how the nominee has demonstrated excellence in teaching and the nomination form below. The annual nomination deadline is March 31st at 4:30 and must be dropped off at the Students' Union Office (SU180) or emailed to su.academic@uleth.ca, or submit this online form HERE.

After all nominations are collected the selection committee consisting of, the ULSU Vice-president Academic, five members of the ULSU General Assembly, and three students-at-large, will decide which three instructors will receive this honour. The selection committee will do additional research on each candidate and in March the committee will decide which candidates will be receiving the award. The winners will be formally recognized as part of the ULSU Last Lecture event during April.

Award Winners

2017-2018: Dr. Joy Morris, Dr. Harold Jansen, Dr. Muhammad Khan

2016-2017: Lisa Lambert – Political Science, Gideon Fujiwara - History, Adam Mason – Fine Arts

2015-2016: Dr. Randall Barley, Dr. Howard Cheng, Dr. Alexander Darku 

2014-2015: Wayne Lippa – Chemistry, Abigail McMeekin - Modern Language, Janay Nugent – History 

2013-2014: Dan Johnson - Geography, Sheila McManus - History, Leanne Elias - New Media 

2012-2013: Greg Patenaude - Chemistry &  Biochemistry, Luz Ospina - Modern Languages

2011-2012: Shawn Bubel - Geography

2010-2011: Jay Gamble – English, Hans Joachim Wieden - Chemistry & Biochemistry, Lesley Brown - Kinesiology